Eight Apply for Eastern NE Judgeship

gavel-and-scale(AP) — Eight people have submitted their names for consideration of a county judgeship in eastern Nebraska.

The Judicial Nominating Commission for county judge in the 5th Judicial District will hold a public hearing on July 10 to consider the qualifications of those who have applied.

Those applying are: Steven Fillman and Kevin Schlender, both of York; Thomas Klein, of Wahoo; Christina Marroquin, of Seward; James Stecker, of Columbus; Stephen Twiss, of Central City; Nancy Waldron, of Exeter; and Rodney Wetovick, of Fullerton.

The judgeship will be based either in Merrick County’s Central City or York in York County. The opening was created by the retirement of Judge Curtis Evans.

The 5th Judicial District is composed of Boone, Butler, Colfax, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk, Saunders, Seward and York counties.