Heineman Announces NE Water Task Force Members

dave-heineman(AP) — A task force created to address water sustainability in Nebraska is about to begin its work.

Gov. Dave Heineman announced his appointments Tuesday to the 34-member task force. The group was created to find ways to make Nebraska’s water supply more sustainable for farmers, ranchers, cities, wildlife and recreational users.

Eleven members were appointed by Heineman: Brian Barels of Columbus, Joel Christensen of Omaha, John Heaston of Cozad, Tim Luchsinger of Grand Island, D. Chandler Mazour of Gothenburg, Roric Paulman of Sutherland, Rex Peterson of Gordon, Gerry Dale Sheets of Sargent, Scott Smathers of Lincoln, Walter Dennis Strauch of Mitchell and Lennie Adams of Waterloo.

Another 16 members are from the Nebraska Natural Resources Commission. Seven non-voting members include state lawmakers and the head of the Department of Natural Resources.