Huskers Host Miami on ESPNU

Posted 11 months ago

By Robert Lovell

Nebraska-Huskers-BasketballLincoln – Nebraska’s game against Miami could be the decisive game of the 2013 Big Ten/ACC Challenge, as television and start times for the annual event were announced Thursday morning.The Huskers’ game with the Hurricanes from Pinnacle Bank Arena on Wednesday, Dec. 4, will be televised nationally on ESPNU with a start time of 8:30 p.m. central. It is final game of the 12-game series, as the Big Ten looks to hold on to the Commissioner’s Cup for the fifth consecutive year.

The Huskers are 1-1 all-time in ACC/Big Ten Challenge matchups, including a win at Wake Forest in 2012. The ACC leads the all-time series, 10-3-1, with the Big Ten winning three of the last four matchups.

The Huskers fared well on ESPNU in 2012-13, going 4-0 on the network, including three Big Ten victories.

Nebraska, under second-year Coach Tim Miles, returns three starters from a team that went 15-18 in his first season, including senior guard Ray Gallegos and forwards David Rivers and Shavon Shields. Gallegos, who averaged 12.5 ppg in 2012-13, led the Big Ten in 3-pointers per game and ranked second in school history with 83 3-pointers, while Shields averaged 8.6 points and 5.1 rebounds per game as a true freshman. Rivers started NU’s final 17 games at forward and averaged 5.6 points and 3.4 rebounds per game. In all, nine letterwinners return for the Huskers in 2013-14, while eight newcomers, including three redshirts, will suit up for the Scarlet and Cream for the first time this season.

Complete matchups, start times and television information are listed below.

Tuesday, Dec. 3

Indiana at Syracuse: 7:15 p.m. ET/6:15 p.m.CT (ESPN)

Illinois at Georgia Tech: 7:15 p.m. ET/6:15 p.m. CT (ESPN2)

Penn State at Pittsburgh: 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Michigan at Duke: 9:15 p.m. ET/8:15 p.m. CT (ESPN)

Notre Dame at Iowa: 9:15 p.m. ET/8:15 p.m.CT (ESPN2)

Florida State at Minnesota: 9:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Wednesday, Dec. 4

Maryland at Ohio State: 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT (ESPN/ESPN2)

Wisconsin at Virginia: 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m.CT (ESPN/ESPN2)

Northwestern at North Carolina State: 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

North Carolina at Michigan State: 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT (ESPN)

Boston College at Purdue: 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT (ESPN2)

Miami (Fla.) at Nebraska: 9:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)