Dawson County Raceway Results – June 29

Dawson-County-Raceway-ResulGetting their chance to shine in the limelight as a result of conquering the Dawson County Raceway oval to claim the checkered flag on Sunday night at Lexington, Nebraska were: Kyle Rohleder, Tyler Andreasen, Jamey Kennicutt, Mike Nichols and Kyle Bond.

No stranger to Dawson County Raceway is Kyle Rohleder of Wakeeney, Kansas; but his first visit of the 2014 season was dynamic, as he snared the lead on the eighth circuit by riding the cushion around the top of the oval from his fifth row starting position. Rohleder was able to drive away from the field to cruise to the IMCA Modified victory. Rohleder was able to pass Cale Osborn of Cozad for the lead on the eighth lap, Osborn was the leader from the third lap until that point by driving around the short way of Dawson County Raceway right outside the inside berm. Osborn was able to stay among the front runners and earn second place honors. Ogallala hotshoe Cole Hodges started in the third row and was able to chip away throughout in the top five to cross the finish line in third place overall. Osborn and fellow Cozad veteran driver Steve Aitken won the earlier in the night heat races for the Modifieds.

Mr. Excitement, Tyler Andreasen of Grand Island gained speed and momentum throughout the Grand National Late Model feature and was able to drive to the lead just past the halfway point and power to the victory. Andreasen started in the third row and was able to find the racing groove that worked well with his hotrod, as he found himself among the top five throughout the first half of the race. Kevin Safranek of Merna finished second place overall after holding the point from the second lap until Andreasen captured the lead from the veteran wheelman. Hastings’ Tom Kubicka crossed the finish line in third place, as he to the front from his fifth row starting slot. Andreasen and Josh Leonard of Gibbon were the heat race winners in the division. Leonard led the first laps of the feature until losing a drivers side rear tire, dashing his hopes to an elite finish on Sunday.

Getting his car to drive through the corners with flexibility in all racing grooves has proved to be very valuable for Gothenburg’s Jamey Kennicutt as he grapped the lead on the fourth lap and never looked back. Kennicutt won the IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature yet again, along with his heat race. Ageless wonder Denny Egge of Kearney battled through the traffic from his fifth row starting position to finish second overall in the feature event after also winning a heat race earlier in the evening. Reigning division season points champion Chad Dolan of Gibbon was third overall. Casey Clausen of Grand Island and Curtis’ Rubber Duck Bryan Herrick claimed fourth and fifth place accolades in the feature.

Smiling from ear to ear, Harlan, Iowa’s Mike Nichols was money in the bank while riding around the top groove at Dawson County Raceway to earn the Feature victory in the IMCA Stock Car division. Nichols grabbed the lead on the fifth lap and led the rest of the way despite heavy pressure at different times throughout the highlight filled event. In Nichols’ rearview mirror back looking to make a move throughout the feature was Casey Werkmeister of Maywood. Werkmeister tried to work his magic with no avail, as he was forced to settle with runner-up honors. Flyin’ Farmer Kyle Clough of Wallace was third overall in his Chevy Monte Carlo, after earning a win the prior night in Holyoke, Colorado. Nichols, Clough and Kyle Werkmeister of Maywood were victorious in earlier in the event heat races for Stock Cars.

Breaking through for his second straight IMCA Hobby Stock feature win was the Gibbon Gambler, Kyle Bond. Bond is a wily veteran that was able to lead the final 10 laps of the feature to earn the victory from his fourth row starting spot. Three-time IMCA Lady Eagle Champion Tiffany Bittner of Norfolk was the runner-up after leading three laps in the early going of the feature event. Dillon Thompson of Campbell was high on the wheel to drive inside the top five and be among the leaders from his fifth row starting slot. Rounding out the top five in the feature were Travis Kernick of Kearney and Robert Leonard of Gibbon in fourth and fifth, respectively.

(Unofficial Results):

–IMCA Modified Feature: 1. 0-Kyle Rohleder; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. 34jw-Cole Hodges; 4. 2-Jeremy Herbst; 5. 7a-Steve Aitken; 6. 19-Chuck Stryker; 7. XII-Jay Steffens; 8. 1c-Cole Egge; 9. 30x-Micah Veleba; 10. 4c-Charley Brown.

Heat Race Winners: 7a-Steve Aitken; 6c-Cale Osborn.

–Grand National Late Models Feature: 1. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 2. 28-Kevin Safranek; 3. 23-Tom Kubicka; 4. 51-Les Siebert; 5. 83-Denton Duncan; 6. 3h-Jarrod Hackler; 7. 88-Brandon Leonard; 8. 39-Ty Leonard; 9. 5s-Dylan Schmer; 10. 85j-Josh Leonard.

Heat Race Winners: 85j-Josh Leonard; 13t-Tyler Andreasen.

–IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature: 1. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 2. 1x-Denny Egge; 3. 87d-Chad Dolan; 4. 23mm-Casey Clausen; 5. 0hp-Bryan Herrick; 6. 68-Craig Howard; 7. 20b-Brandon Clough; 8. 8c-Corey Cruzan; 9. 15j-Herb Slough; 10. 20-Hunter Cantrall.

Heat Race Winners: 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 1x-Denny Egge.

–IMCA Stock Car Feature: 1. 63-Mike Nichols; 2. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 3. 11k-Kyle Clough; 4. 50c-Colton Osborn; 5. 24-Bob Chalupa; 6. 10k-Kurt Trusty; 7. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 8. 19-Dana Morgan; 9. 29e-Brendan Eilts; 10. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister.

Heat Race Winners: 11k-Kyle Clough; 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 63-Mike Nichols.

–IMCA Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 0-Kyle Bond; 2. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 3. 11-Dillon Thompson; 4. 2x-Travis Kernick; 5. 85-Robert Leonard; 6. 44-Caleb Hetrick; 7. 53e-Tyler Easterday; 8. 89-Michael Zerr; 9. R19-Larry Refior; 10. 5-Chuck Ledbetter.

Heat Race Winners: 0-Kyle Bond; 85-Robert Leonard.