14 Storm Players Attending NHL Prospect Camps

tcstormKEARNEY, Neb. – The Storm are well represented among this summer’s NHL development camps with 14 total players, past and present, receiving invites to play among other elite prospects.

All three of Tri-City’s picks in June’s NHL Draft will participate with their respective teams. Austin Poganski will be with the St. Louis Blues, while Sam Lafferty will be in Pittsburgh with the Penguins and Alec Dillon in Los Angeles with the Kings.

Forward Patrick Newell, who is expected to be with the Storm during the 2014-15 season, has also received an invite to join Dillon in Los Angeles with the Stanley Cup Champion Kings.

Newell was with the Indiana Ice a year ago, helping the team to a Clark Cup Championship by scoring 16 goals and 42 assists in a total of 72 games played. The Thousand Oaks, Calif. native is committed to play collegiately at St. Cloud State.

Goaltender Blake Weyrick, who the Storm drafted in Phase II of the 2014 USHL Draft, will participate in mini-camp with the New York Islanders from July 8-12.

In addition, nine Tri-City alumni received development camp invites from nine different NHL organizations.

The alums include forward Torin Snydeman with the Arizona Coyotes, goaltender Christian Frey with the Dallas Stars, forward Michael Vecchione with the Florida Panthers, forward Grant Opperman with the Minnesota Wild, defenseman Donovan Gardiner with the New York Islanders, forward Nick Lappin with the Pittsburgh Penguins, defenseman Rick Pinkston with the San Jose Sharks, goaltender Adam Wilcox with the Tampa Bay Lightning and goaltender Pheonix Copley with the Washington Capitals.

A full list of the players participating in camps, along with their colleges, is below.

Season tickets for the 2014-15 season are on sale now with packages as low as $375. Call the Storm office today at 308.338.8011 or visit stormhockey.com for more information.

2014 Development Camp Players

Arizona Coyotes: Torin Snydeman (Northeastern University)
Dallas Stars: Christian Frey (Ohio State University)
Florida Panthers: Mike Vecchione (Union College)
Los Angeles Kings: Alec Dillon, Patrick Newell (Tri-City Storm)
Minnesota Wild: Grant Opperman (Dartmouth College)
New York Islanders: Donovan Gardiner, Blake Weyrick (Tri-City Storm)
Pittsburgh Penguins: Sam Lafferty, Nick Lappin (Tri-City Storm, Brown University)
San Jose Sharks: Rick Pinkston (Dartmouth College)
St. Louis Blues: Austin Poganski (Tri-City Storm)
Tampa Bay Lightning: Adam Wilcox (University of Minnesota)
Washington Capitals: Pheonix Copley (Michigan Tech)