Dawson County Raceway Results – August 10

Dillon Thompson and his crew capture a priceless memory in the winners circle after winning the Jeremy Trompke Memorial IMCA Hobby Stock Feature on Sunday night at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska.

Dillon Thompson and his crew capture a priceless memory in the winners circle after winning the Jeremy Trompke Memorial IMCA Hobby Stock Feature on Sunday night at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska.

The racing action was smoking hot at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska on Sunday as competitors jostled for position with limited events remaining, seeking the most points possible to snare post season accolades and the honor of winning the Jeremy Trompke Memorial hardware.

Earning trips to the winners circle on Sunday evening to take home the coveted Trompke trophies were: Colton Osborn, Chad Dolan, Kevin Safranek, Mike Nichols, Dillon Thompson and Brad Bayne.

Leading the final five laps was enough for Colton Osborn of Cozad to claim the checkered flags in the IMCA Modified Feature event. Osborn started in the fourth row and was able to work his way into contention just past the halfway point of the race. Leading the most laps in the event was the runner-up finisher Cale Osborn of Cozad. Cale grabbed the lead on the fifth lap and was the point until his brother Colton snared the lead on the 15th circuit. Cale Osborn put the pressure on Colton Osborn for the waning laps, but was forced to settle for second place. The Eddyville Flyer Chuck Stryker started on the front row and staying in contention throughout the event to earn third place honors. Jay Steffens of North Platte and Cozad’s Steve Aitken were the earlier in the evening heat race winners.

Hitting a hot streak, Gibbon’s Chad Dolan darted to the lead on the opening lap from his fourth row starting position and never looked back, despite the abundance of caution flags that flew during the IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature. Dolan led all 20 laps of the feature to earn the victory. Jamey Kennicutt of Gothenburg drove from the fifth row starting position to earn a podium finish, along with putting heavy pressure on eventual victor Dolan in the waning laps. Kennicutt crossed the stripe in second place overall. The ‘Ageless Wonder’ Denny Egge of Kearney was high on the steering wheel to drive his hotrod to a third place finish, coming from the fifth row starting position. Dolan and Hunter Cantrell were the heat race winners in the division.

Powering his way to the front and showing great driving prowess was veteran wheelman Kevin Safranek of Merna to win the Grand National Late Model checkered flag. Safranek claimed the lead on the 14th lap and he never looked back to earn the victory. Finishing with the fury to put the pressure cooker on Safranek was Dylan Schmer of Aurora, who was forced to settle for second place honors. Early leader Brandon Leonard of Gibbon paced the field for the initial 13 circuits, fell off the pace of the leaders, but recovered quite nicely with a third place finish. Josh Leonard of Gibbon and Hastings hotshoe Jarred Hackler won the earlier heat races in the division.

Wasting no time to get to the front and pace the field was Mike Nichols of Harlan Iowa as he earned the victory in the IMCA Stock Car Feature in fine fashion. Nichols drove his way to the lead on the third lap and he was able to remain in front throughout the remainder of the event. Casey Werkmeister of Maywood was the runner-up finisher as he worked through traffic to earn the second place honor, after starting in the rear of the field at the onset. Coming home third overall and earning a podium finish was the ‘Flying Farmer’ Kyle Clough of Wallace. Clough started in the fourth row and was able to dart into contention early and avoid incidents to earn the trip to the podium. Nichols was joined by Lexington’s Darin Racek in claiming heat race victories.

Earning the big payday in the Jeremy Trompke Memorial event was Dillon Thompson of Campbell, as he won the IMCA Feature in the Hobby Stock division. Thompson was able to drive his way to the lead on the fifth lap and despite heavy pressure from challengers was able to hold down the fort and earn the victory. Early leader Robert Leonard of Gibbon was second overall after leading the first four laps. Beatrice hotshoe Adam Armstrong started in the third row and he was able to show great consistency to avoid incidents and earn a show position finish on the podium. Sal Hernandez of Columbus and Colton Pfeifer of Stockton, Kansas rounded out the top five finishers in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Nearing the halfway point, the time was now for Brad Bayne of Greeley, Colorado to power his way to the lead and never relinquish the lead and earn the Outlaw Vintage Lites Series victory at Dawson County Raceway. Bayne was inside the top five from the onset, but it wasn’t until the sixth lap that he drove to the point and never looked back. Crossing the stripe second overall was Brandon Vantine of Milford. Vantine led a trio of laps in the early going and didn’t waver in earning the podium finish. Doug Pollock of Tekamah was third overall. Brad Bayne and his father Duane Bayne earned heat race wins in the division. Greeley, Colorado veteran driver Duane Bayne went for a wild ride, rolling numerous times off of turn four during the feature event.

Dawson County Raceway is back in action this weekend with big purses being posted for the IMCA Modified’s and Northern Sport Modifieds battling for $1500 and $1000 to the victor. Gates open at 5 p.m. and the racing action is scheduled to start with the drop of the green flag at 6:30 p.m.

(Unofficial Results)

–IMCA Modified Feature: 1. 50c-Colton Osborn; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. 19-Chuck Stryker; 4. 7a-Steve Aitken; 5. XII-Jay Steffens; 6. 34jw-Cole Hodges; 7. 4c-Charley Brown; 8. 81-Mike Densberger; 9. 727-Todd Schwarz; 10. 1c-Cole Egge; 11. 2-Jeremy Herbst; 12. 0-Kyle Rohleder.

Heat Race winners: XII-Jay Steffens; 7a-Steve Aitken.

–IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature: 1. 87d-Chad Dolan; 2. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 3. 1x-Denny Egge; 4. 0hp-Bryan Herrick; 5. 20-Hunter Cantrell; 6. 68-Craig Howard; 7. 12j-Kerry Jones; 8. 23mm-Casey Clausen; 9. 20b-Brandon Clough; 10. 15j-Herb Slough; 11. 15r-Robbie Kosmacek; 12. 2c-JR Ewing.

Heat Race winners: 87d-Chad Dolan; 20-Hunter Cantrall.

–Grand National Late Models Feature: 1. 28-Kevin Safranek; 2. 5s-Dylan Schmer; 3. 88-Brandon Leonard; 4. 85-Josh Leonard; 5. 55-Jake Neighbors; 6. 85x-Robbie Leonard; 7. 3h-Jarred Hackler; 8. 83-Denton Duncan; 9. 51-Les Siebert; 10. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 11. 1s-Chris Stevens.

Heat Race winners: 85-Josh Leonard; 3h-Jarred Hackler.

–IMCA Stock Car Feature: 1. 63-Mike Nichols; 2. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 3. 11k-Kyle Clough; 4. 72-Robert Walker; 5. 77-Jed Williams; 6. 24-Bob Chalupa; 7. 49-Zach Zentner; 8. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 9. 09h-Bob Hoing; 10. 25-Jared Brooks; 11. 00-Sarah Klein; 12. 57x-Scott Stoll.

Heat Race winners: 63-Mike Nichols; 31-Darin Racek.

–IMCA Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 11-Dillon Thompson; 2. 85-Robert Leonard; 3. 6a-Adam Armstrong; 4. 04-Sal Hernandez; 5. 71-Colton Pfeifer; 6. 2x-Travis Kernick; 7. 54p-Kyle Pfeifer; 8. 98z-Zach Olmstead; 9. 26-Ryan Gardine; 10. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 11. 30a-Adam Morgan; 12. 95b-Tiffany Bittner.

Heat Race winners: 0-Kyle Bond; 88j-Jacob Olmstead.

–OVLS Feature: 1. 3b-Brad Bayne; 2. 11b-Brandon Vantine; 3. 12s-Doug Pollock; 4. 1taz-Terry Vantine; 5. 70-Larry Fox; 6. 70n-Ben Bohuslavsky; 7. 21t-Taylor Pollock; 8. 51-Derek Benes; 9. 3r-Duane Bayne; 10. 15-Brandon Spanjer.

Heat Race winners: 3b-Brad Bayne; 3r-Duane Bayne.