The state’s Department of Revenue says medical marijuana dispensaries were required to file their second-quarter returns for recreational marijuana by Aug. 1.
Oregonians legalized recreational marijuana in late 2014.
But it can only be sold by medical marijuana dispensaries until the Oregon Liquor Control Commission finalizes rules for the new industry. That’s expected to happen by next year.
Medical marijuana dispensaries started collecting a 25 percent tax on their recreational marijuana sales in January.
Anticipated state revenue from recreational marijuana through June 2017 was recently quadrupled by Oregon’s Legislative Revenue Office.
The expected amount rose from $8.4 million to $35 million.
Recreational marijuana is illegal in 46 states and under federal law.